Grafton Rowing Club News: 2006 Presentation Night:

The 2006 GRC Presentation night was held in the Captain's Room at Roches Hotel on Friday, May 19, 2006


The first award of the night went to Dennis Darke for the Rower of the Year


Senior Oarsman of the Year was Rick McLennan


Senior Oarswoman of the Year went to Lyndall Burchell (Lyndall was absent on the night)


Junior Oarsman of the Year was Australian champion Lewis Hemphill


Steff Ford was awarded Junior Oarswoman of the Year


Australian champion Brenton Ford received the Sculler of the Year


Veteran of the Year went to Dennis Darke


Most Improved was awarded to Rosemary Graves (absent on the night). Rosemary also received the Dip Award (for falling out of the boat)


Ian Parker was named Puller of the Year (club person of the year - Ian was absent on the night)


Special Service Awards were presented to Daphne Maughan ...


and John Brien for their continued support and participation in the club


In a popular, major announcement for the night, Don Noble was made a life member of the club.

Congratulations to Don on this well deserved award.

Australian U17 Double Scull Champions Brenton Ford and Lewis Hemphill presented a medal to the club in appreciation of support given to them by the club:

Brenton and Lewis also made a presentation to thank their coaches - Ken Maughan, Ron Beattie and Colin Lang:


Brenton's father Warren then thanked the club and all those who helped and supported the boys at the Australian Championships


Not awarded on the night, but a thoroughly deserved honour - Ken Maughan is shown at right with his OAM


Equally well deserved - Greg Thompson received the annual "Bovine Excreta" Award (for obvious reasons)


Keeping it in the family, Kay Thompson received the Slick Chick Award from Daph


GRC recently bought another coaching tinny - Ron wanted a canopy over it... so one was presented to him:

Other awards on the night included:

  • Encouragement Award - Sandra Brown

  • The Open Gate Award - Rick Mclennan

Daph also made several awards:

  • Gold Medal Award - Rosemary

  • Canteen Award - Marie

  • Treasure Chest Award - Don

  • Travel Co-ordinator Award - John

  • Passion Award - Lyndall

  • Sadie Award - Carol

  • Cappuccino Award - Ann Marie

  • In the Dark Award - Judy

  • Tickets on the Terrace Award - Keren

  • Absentee Award - Julie

  • Super Service Award  - Trish

  • Super Secretary -Award  Rhonda

  • Magic Memory Award - Greg

  • Gone Fishing Award  - Earl

  • Gag Award - Michael

  • Chef Award - Max, Phil, Pat and Warren

  • Pot of Gold Award - Warren and Andrew

Congratulations to all the winners.